You know that guy in your News Feed who just got a car and won’t stop posting pictures?

Facebook finally has a solution for you. It’s testing a “Snooze” button that allows users to temporarily unfollow individuals, pages, and groups for periods of 24 hours, a week, or 30 days.

We can already hear the sighs of relief from around the world as millions of wedding photos, baby videos, and “Happy Birthday” messages disappear from screens.

The feature, currently being tested with only a small segment of users, would live in the top-right menu of posts. Users can select “Unfollow or Snooze” where before you could only select “Unfollow.”

“We’re testing new ways to give people control over their News Feeds so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant,”

Unsurprisingly, the Internet has big plans for the feature.

Facebook got a snooze option! Finna snooze half y’all mfs 🙂

— A J H I E R 🌈✨ (@thekidnami) August 17, 2017

Oya you can snooze peoples posts on Facebook now That’s gonna come in handy.

— Matthew Francis (@themafro) August 15, 2017

Facebook is, once again, offering you a way to get rid of annoying friends—kind of. The “see fewer posts like this” button fill a similar, but vaguer niche—it’s unclear to what extent “see fewer posts” removes someone from your feed.

Snooze is similar, but a much more concrete approach to unfollowing. But crucially for Facebook, users can follow people again when the time is up.

Advertisements